Ground Turkey Lasagna Rollups

I’ll be honest. I’ve had this ground turkey in my freezer for maybe 6 months. I had very good intentions a while back to make a turkey meatloaf, but my interests shifted away from it. In other words, I started to think that maybe ground turkey was kind of nasty. Y’all are in the circle of trust, so I can say things like that out loud.

My goal lately (erm…resolution?)  is to clean the junk out of our home in order to make way for a cleaner, less processed lifestyle. Don’t we all make these *fun* resolutions as soon as “Auld Lang Syne” stops playing and all the people in Times Square wonder where they’re going to pee?

Ahem… anyway. While cleaning out my pantry, I discovered a small stash of leftover lasagna noodles. Because really, who doesn’t have a ziplock bag with only 7 lasagna noodles in it? I’m kind of a tightwad lately, so I really just want to use stuff I’ve already bought. It turns out that I had about 60% of the ingredients to make these little lasagna rollups I see all over the internet. This is my favorite thing about raiding the pantry. I always seem to forget what I already have, because let’s face it… my pantry can be a wilderness of impulse buys and old boxes of crap.

So let’s get on with it. Here’s how you make these little dudes:

turkeylasagnarollups-1

Roll call.

Ground Turkey (which is actually pretty good) Lasagna Rollups:

  • 1lb ground turkey (healthier than ground beef, yo)
  • 1 16 oz jar of pizza sauce (because I didn’t have pasta sauce)
  • 1 can of tomato soup (to thicken the pizza sauce)
  • 7-10 lasagna noodles (one noodle = 1 serving)
  • 2 cups low fat cottage cheese
  • 2 cups low fat ricotta
  • Sweet basil (fresh leaves work best)
  • 1.5 cups of mozzarella cheese
  • 1 packet Italian dressing mix
  • Seasonings – Garlic powder, Italian seasonings, oregano, minced onion, parsley

(Side note: The absolute baller thing about this was that the only things I had to buy to make this were the ricotta and cottage cheese. Check your pantries y’all. You can probably make this for dinner tomorrow, and for like, $4 out of pocket.)

turkeylasagnarollups-5Directions:

  1. Fry up that meat. Drain it. Add some italian dressing mix to that beast. Once the meat is fully mixed with seasoning, add a few chopped basil leaves. I love basil, and you should too.
  2. Boil the lasagna noodles. Be sure to add some salt so they don’t get too snuggly in the pot.
  3. Once the lasagna is boiled, I like to rinse it with cold water. This makes them way easier to use. Tear out some parchment paper and set those badboys aside. They may get all sticky this way, which makes them easier to roll up later.
  4. Preheat oven to 350 degrees.
  5. In a small bowl combine ricotta, cottage cheese and remaining seasonings. Nothing too heavy… just a pinch of each for taste.
  6. In a different, more cooler bowl, combine tomato soup and pizza sauce. Add about 1/2 cup of the pizza/tomato soup mixture to the cooked ground turkey. This makes the inside a bit more tomatoey (I use fancy words) and less dry.
  7. Now you’re ready to rock and roll. Get it? Yes. Grab your first lasagna noodle and schmear some of that ricotta mixture all over it. Be modest, because when you roll these up, everything can get a little messy. After the ricotta mixture, add a layer of the ground turkey/sauce. Roll the noodle up and press the closing firmly.
  8. Don’t stop there! Keep on rollin’ the other noodles.
  9. Once all noodles are rolled up, place on a baking sheet lined with aluminum foil and sprayed with cooking oil. I’m not sure if the spray was necessary but I really didn’t want to find out the hard way.
  10. Take a big ol’ spoon and ladle the rest of the sauce over the top of the rolls.
  11. Add a pinch or 10 of mozzarella cheese over these saucy rollups. That’s right. They like it.
  12. If you must make everything pretty like I do, add some parsley on top of the cheese.
  13. Bake for about 10-15 mins, or until cheese is melty and rolls are nice and warm.
  14. I had a kale/spinach mixture in my fridge, so I served the rolls over that. It was mighty tasty.
  15. Eat that nonsense until you’re full.

The end.

turkeylasagnarollups-4

turkeylasagnarollups-6

turkeylasagnarollups-9

One thought on “Ground Turkey Lasagna Rollups

Leave a Reply

