Healthy & Hearty Wedge Salad

wedge-saladDuring a recent team lunch to Brio, I discovered my love for the wedge salad. If you’ve never had a wedge salad before, it might be because you hate gorgonzola. If you hate gorgonzola, I totally get it. It smells like feet, and has one FONKY flavor. I, however, love the moldy smelly deliciousness that is gorgonzola.

I decided recently that I was going to recreate the wedge salad. Seems simple, right? Throw together a few ingredients, right? Well, not quite. Finding the array of ingredients that I need to satisfy my cholesterol issue proved to be quite challenging.

The main culprits:

  • Bacon
  • Gorgonzola
  • Parmesan dressing

How am I ever going to recreate the wedge salad without the very things that make it both amazing and delicious? Simply enough, I’d have to get rid of them. Orrrrr…. suffer the consequence of scoping out a “lighter” option for each. This is where traditional salad aids come in. Things like bacon crumbles for salad (generic bacon bits, Bacon Bacon) and yogurt dressing (which is like, my new favorite thing ever).

wedge-salad-6As for the yogurt dressing, I decided on a tangent from the parmesan dressing. I went with blue cheese, which I felt would compliment the bacon flavor more.  Keep in mind that yogurt blue cheese dressing is definitely more runny and less creamy than traditional blue cheese dressing. It still has that fonky flavor that I love though, so that’s always a plus. Now, with any diet, the real thing is always going to be better. Nothing beats the smokey and crispy taste of bacon chunks, but Pampered Chef’s Bacon Bacon is a reasonable substitute. What is lacks in actual “baconness”, it makes up for with a welcome crunch.

All in all, this wedge salad was not nearly as good as Brio’s. I changed up the overall flavor of it a bit too much by switching from parmesan to blue cheese dressing, leaving the fonky flavor to overpower the salad. Next time, lighter blue cheese yogurt dressing or parmesan yogurt dressing will totally suffice.

I will say that it was still mighty delicious, and I was even able to add a few fun extras like black olives and garden fresh green onions. Also, I was plenty full three quarters of the way through my salad, so take that hunger cravings!!!

Healthy & Hearty Wedge Salad:

  • 1/4 wedge of romain lettuce head, halved
  • 1 roma tomato, diced
  • 1/4 cup black olives (optional)
  • 1 stalk green onion/scallion, chopped (optional)
  • Salad toppin’ (crunchy, optional)
  • Bacon substitute (Baco, Bacon Bacon)
  • Blue cheese crumbles
  • Blue cheese dressing (yogurt, 35 calories for 2 tbsp)
  • Knife, fork, appetite.

wedge-salad-5

wedge-salad-4

wedge-salad-10

Leave a Reply

