In Tribute: Weird Eats

My Grandpa ate a lot of weird things. He was German and I’m pretty sure he turned my dad on to all sorts of questionable things. Canned sardines, jarred pigs feet, liver and onions. All sorts of things that Hannibal Lecter might have enjoyed.

The one thing that always stuck out in my mind was definitely the cannibal sandwich. Have any of you ever heard of this madness?

  • Rye bread
  • Raw beef
  • Raw onions
  • Salt & Pepper

Oh yeah, and the best part: it’s all eaten raw.

Yick.

100_0097

My Grandpa and Dad would always enjoy the cannibal sandwich at Christmas time, much to my dismay. I mean, we had all sorts of delicious spreads and they were grabbing for the raw beef. It even became a right of passage for any guy I brought home around the holidays to try it out. Sorry dudes.

Why am I thinking of the cannibal sandwich? Not because I’ve struck up a nostalgic craving, but because last Christmas was the last time my Dad would get to enjoy one with his father. Sadly, my Grandfather passed away last week at the age of 77. He was a feisty and sometimes incomprehensible German with the sweetest smile and the tiniest little frame. He remained married to my Grandma for over 50 years and restored/fixed old cars in his spare time.

Raise your cannibal sandwiches to a fine man.

Love you, Grandpa.

Leave a Reply

