Au Revoir Fromage

Well, I guess I have some splainin’ to do.

A hiatus of November-June is a bit ridiculous, but I assure you I have an explanation. It’s not a great explanation, but here it goes. I fell of the bandwagon. Yep. I got busy, and lazy. Not the best combination for the ol’ food blog. But alas, I am back, and this time with a new purpose.

I have had this cholesterol issue since I was 20. You know, the whole “Hey! this is hereditary, and there’s nothing you can do about it!” type deal. So naturally, I ignored it. And then I paid attention to it. And then I ignored it again.

You get the idea.

Today I got another kind reminder that my cholesterol is still insanely high (LDL=276 to be exact). I am 27 and 132lbs. I’ve never been quite this candid about my health specs (especially because I weighed a lovely 110lbs when I moved to Kansas City 4 years ago), but really, I can’t keep ignoring this the way I have been.

I’ve always encountered the skinny stigma when it comes to dieting. I’ve approached it from the cholesterol angle, believing firmly that the whole “dangerously high cholesterol” bit would help people understand that it wasn’t a body image issue. There have even been sideways glances and eye rolls as I checked labels for foods. I mean, really? When did the quest for health as a skinny person become such a burden?

So here’s my new blog, devoted to trying to figure out how to nix my love affair with the things that are clogging my body up. This includes all things breaded, fried, cheesed, buttered and smothered in cream. If you loved my blog for the mostly indulgent and sinful treats, you might have to find a new fixation.

Basically, this is going to suck. But you know, I am married and I want to have a family some day. This isn’t just for me.  It’s also for them.

*le sigh*…Au revoir fromage.

7 thoughts on “Au Revoir Fromage

  1. I lerve you, and I don’t think it’s silly when you look at the labels. No matter how skinny someone is, they should be conscious of what they are putting in their body. So, good luck Poppe-poo-butt. If you need emotional support I’m here for ya!

    • Thanks Rachel!!! You are the best. I know I can always count on you for awesome advice and wisdom… especially once there is a baby in our picture 😉

  2. Giiiirl! I am excited for this reboot. I need some more healthy eating in my life too. I hate getting on my scale in the morning now. (almost-30 and somewhere between 127 and 130 depending on the day; I was around 120 this time last year.) So if we have to eat healthier, let’s do it together.

    • Yeah! It’s just not as easy as it was in college when I was running around everywhere. Not to mention, feeling immortal 😉 Thanks for the support though!! Let’s DO this! 🙂

  3. Rebooting to real food sounds like a great plan! there are some yummy and delicious treats out there waiting to be made. You can do this and I can’t wait to see the results. 😀

Leave a Reply

