A Potentially Biased Review: Friends Sushi

One thing that I’ve noticed while rifling through reviews on Yelp is that it’s pretty easy to become a food snob. I don’t claim to have the most refined palette in the universe (see: my love for McDonalds french fries), but as an artist I do have a keen sense for when things come together in harmony.

Friends Sushi has been a long time favorite spot of mine, but I will disclaim that it isn’t without the occasional offense (see: This not very nice review of Friends).

All disclaimers aside, I freaking fantastically love Friends. Here’s a very bad haiku explaining why:

“Rock n’ roll” be still my soul

Salmon, spicy crab

A tiny deep fried paradise

Yes, there are actual healthy things at Friends, but the Rock N’ Roll is not one of them. I usually seek a balance of healthy and Americanized-deep-fried sushi when I go to Friends, you know… to keep my food karma in tact. A typical order of mine from Friends consists of

  • Cheese crackers (for starters. Sort of like your traditional pocket fold crab rangoon. Note – please try it with the spicy mustard sauce… if you value your life.)
  • Rock N’Roll, (Special roll – Avocodo, smoked salmon, spicy crab – fried like tempura)
  • Yellowtail Scallion (Maki roll – Yellowtail tuna and scallion)
  • Crunchy Spicy Salmon (Maki roll – Salmon, Sriracha, panko)

If I’m feeling ambitious, I’ll also get the onion soup. Until I started frequenting sushi restaurants, I never knew there could be so much flavor in soup. The Japanese really know their damn soup!

The downside about sushi is that it’s not budget friendly. However, Friends offers a delightful bento box for lunch. It is a pricy $9.95 (if you consider adding on a drink/tip), but let me tell you that it’s worth it. Okay? IT’S WORTH IT. It’s a nice little way to sample the menu at Friends, get a buttload of food, and make your tummy happy. The bentos come with salad, a side, sushi, soup and a roll. Such feast. Wow.

So I bet you’re wondering, what does this stuff look like? Because if you’re anything like me, you LOVE menus with pictures (which Friends has for most of their rolls).

sushi

Also important is the ambience. My husband and I choose to frequent Friends for most of our milestones and anniversaries. It’s a 25 minute drive from our home North of the river, but it’s always worth it. There is a nice brunette server (I really need to catch her name so I can stop calling her “curly-haired-brunette-server”) who is really sweet as pie. With her, our drinks are never empty. There’s also a newer short blonde woman who is always super personable and conversational. The guy with the ironic mustache is always a sweetheart too.

I will say, however, that if you get the dude with the short trimmed blonde hair, he’s not really my favorite. One time, Josh asked him if the wasabi had changed because it had less of a kick. This duderoni proceeded to laugh awkwardly, top off Josh’s water and walk away. It was very strange! Other than that we’ve never had a problem.

Alas, we are coming to the end of this potentially bias review. If you’re in the KC area (Westport specifically), stop by friends and have a cheese cracker or two. If you absolutely hate it, well… I’m sorry good sir. D’Bronx is right down the street if you rather have pizza the size of your head (which is a perfectly delicious substitute).

Friends Sushi

1808 W 39th St
Kansas City, MO 64111
Neighborhood: Volker

(816) 753-6666

2 thoughts on “A Potentially Biased Review: Friends Sushi

    • It’s an interesting experience if you’ve never had it before. I didn’t start eating it until college, so I was pretty late to the game. Let Josh know if you need some sushi buddies when you decide to try it 🙂

Leave a Reply

