Chicken Salad Wrap

Last Sunday I was feeling ultra blah. You know, the “weather-is-changing-and-I’m-suddenly-sick” kind of blah. Needless to say, I was feeling a little picky in the kitchen. I wanted tomato soup. We do not have tomato soup. I wanted grilled cheese. We were out of bread. I wanted crab rangoon. Wait, what? Crab rangoon when you’re sick? Umm, yes. That kind of funk.

I decided that the only remedy (besides more cowbell) would have to be something that I knew could give me some kind of energy boost. I knew we had walnuts, and a pecan and cranberry mix in the pantry, but really had no idea what to do with it. Then I remembered this Fall walnut salad I had at Panera a couple of years ago. Maybe I’m making this up, but they totally had this Thanksgiving salad that was like a party in my mouth.

So I improvised, and quite well if you ask me. Rather than the traditional turkey, we had garlic roasted deli chicken. It’s freaking delicious though, so I didn’t mind. The whole deal took about 5 minutes to make, and again, was a party for my mouth.

Ingredients:

  • Tortilla
  • Deli sliced chicken
  • Romaine lettuce
  • Shelled walnuts, broken up
  • Cherry, cranberry & pecan mix
  • 1 roma tomato
  • Feta Cheese
  • Caesar dressing

Directions:

Well, since this is a wrap, I think you get the jist on how to put this puppy together. The only thing I’d recommend other than the obvious “throw it all together” is to lightly grill the tortilla on it’s own before adding ingredients. It adds a nice crunch to the wrap without heating the whole thing up.

Take that, Panera!

Leave a Reply

