Mushroom and Onion Tartlets

When I first got my KitchenAid mixer back in August, I think I made something new just about every other day. These mushroom tartlets were one of the recipes that came with the mixer, and I just had to try them. I thought they would be great for the upcoming holidays, and could easily be customized with a bunch of toppings. Plus, they totally have a great visual appeal. The first thing that came to mind when I saw these are the overpriced hors d’oeuvres you see being passed around at a wedding. Something that looks kind of fancy, but really costs like, $5.00 to make.

Now hear me out. I know a lot of people HATE mushrooms. You can totally swap them out with something you like. Pepperoni, sausage, chicken, etc. I’m already dreaming up some kind of low-cal pizza cup alternative for a 31 party I’m having next month. Either way, the possibilities are endless!

Mushroom and Onion Tartlets

  • 4oz Light Cream Cheese, softened
  • 3 tbsp Butter or Margarine, Divided
  • 3/4 Cup plus 1 Tsp All Purpose Flour
  • 8 Oz Fresh Mushrooms, Coarsely Chopped
  • 1/2 Cup Green Onions, Chopped
  • 1 Egg
  • 1/4 Tsp Dried Thyme Leaves
  • 1/2 Cup Shredded Swiss Cheese

How to Make it:

Place cream cheese and 2 tbsp butter in a bowl and beat with hand or stand mixer for about one minute. Add flour to mixture and on low speed, continuing mixing until well blended. Form into a ball, wrap in wax paper and chill for 1 hour. (Side note- I made my day ahead by one day, and it did not negatively impact the integrity of a dough)

Meanwhile, melt remaining 1 tbsp of butter in a pan over medium heat. Add mushrooms and onions. I used fresh green onions from the garden, which admittedly is one of the reasons why I chose this recipe. Any excuse to use our fresh produce! Cook and stir until tender. Remove from heat and let cool. Then, divide chilled dough into 24 pieces and press each piece into miniature greased muffin cup.

Preheat oven to 375F. Whisk egg and pour it into mushroom mixture. Add flour, thyme and freshly shredded cheese (I usually try to shred my own cheese if I can. Tastes so much better for some reason!). Stir well to combine. Spoon mixture into pastry-lined muffin cups. Bake at 375 F for 15-20 minutes, or until egg mixture is puffed and golden brown. Serve hot!

Stay tuned for whatever variation I make of these little guys. They were crazy easy, and kept pretty well in the fridge. If you want them to be crispy for the next serving, place them in the oven (a toaster oven would work well too) for a few minutes. I know it seems like a lot of work for a few little tartlets, but it will keep them nice and crispy.

4 thoughts on “Mushroom and Onion Tartlets

Leave a Reply

