Josh Blogs: Spicy Jalapeño Burgers

My husband is awesome! He’s been storing up a bunch of his own food pictures and recipes so that he can guest write on my blog. Seriously, a man after my own heart! I must say, his specialty is definitely his burgers, which he decided would be his first blog topic. He also makes a mean smoothie, which we’ll get into in a future post. Without further ado, here is Josh’s first guest post 🙂

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Hi everyone, guest blogger/husband Josh here. While I help Ranah with the blog now and then I thought I would take off on my own for a couple of posts. I’ll leave the artsy/decorative and adding pictures stuff to her still, so no worries there.

Spicy Jalapeño Burger Ingredients:

  • 2 1/2 lbs ground beef
  • 1/2 lb ground turkey
  • 2 bags french onion soup mix
  • A bunch of jalapeños
  • Crushed red pepper
  • Chili powder
  • Oregano
  • Green onions
  • Mushrooms
  • 3 eggs
  • Breadcrumbs
  • Toppings (cheese, ketchup, mustard, avocado, lettuce, tomatoes, etc)

How to make them:

I think burgers are one of my favorite foods. A big reason being that you can combine just about any of your favorite things with them. I’ve been on a spicy/hot kick lately so I went with Jalapeños. I didn’t really measure much (because I’m a man… (well technically)).  Anyway to give you a rough guess I used about 2 ½ pounds of ground beef and about 1 ½ pounds of ground turkey. The turkey makes for a slightly leaner burger plus it’s great for keeping the whole thing together when you grill it. Soup mixes are awesome for making burgers; here I’ve got a box of Lipton onion soup mix, which has 2 small bags of mix (I used both bags).

Everything else is pretty much season to taste and I had so many green onions from our garden that I threw those in too. 4 Jalapeños is a good medium for the spicy/pepper taste. You may think it’s a lot but once the burgers are cooked they dial down a little. Some crushed red pepper and chili powder go great with this mix. I also threw in some oregano for a little, well whatever that is, but I think any Italian seasoning would compliment what’s going on here.

After that it’s pretty much throw it all together. I added 3 eggs and some whole wheat bread crumbs as well to add a little more volume and help it all stay together. With the turkey meat in there you may not need eggs at all but… I’m a man… Mixing with your hands probably works best and that’s what I did because I’m so manly… However I quickly wussed out because the meat was so cold and got a spatula. Once you’ve got it well mixed together you can make the burgers any size you want. I think I got about a dozen or so out of this batch, I like to make them a little bigger than normal because I’m a pig like that. Keep in mind they will sort of shrink and plump when you cook them, so make them a little thinner and wider than the buns you plan to use.

You know what to do from here. Cook as much or as little as you like.

You’re on your own for toppings on this one, I like to experiment and use different toppings with my burgers just about every time. This go around I went with avocado, pepper jack cheese, tomato, ketchup and mustard.

The picture might be a little better if I had melted the cheese. It still tasted awesome though and that’s what matters!

– Josh

3 thoughts on “Josh Blogs: Spicy Jalapeño Burgers

  1. Yay, Josh!!

    I’m not really a hot and spicy kind of girl, but I bet my mister would love these! Also, the mixing cold meat with your hands thing? I forget every time how awful and seriously frigid that is. Brrr.

    Anyway, these look great! Love the avocado and pepper jack cheese toppings!

  2. Josh also made these delicious italian sausage and pork burgers a couple of months ago. They were amazzzing. And I second the mixing with hands deal. I have a weird stigma about my hands (always washing, sanitizing), so when I heard he had attempted hand mixing, I about cringed in my soul. gahhhh!

  3. But see, this is where those non-latex gloves come in handy. I’m huge on baking and cooking suddenly, and I HAVE to mix with my hands (esp. with ground meat) or I don’t trust that it’s mixed through – but I hate thinking about stuff getting under my nails (or worse, stuff under my nails getting into my food!) – so these are a lifesaver for me.

Leave a Reply

