Rolo Stuffed Snickerdoodles

Ever since Josh bought me a KitchenAid mixer for our anniversary, I’ve been scoping out recipes to break it in with. So far I’ve made snickerdoodle cookies and mini mushroom tartlets, but I’m also planning on making cornmeal pizza crust and crown cheddar rolls this week/weekend. Not to mention that with the recipe for the tartlets, it gave me tons of ideas for other things to try.

Anywho, back to the cookies. Snickerdoodles are probably my favorite cookie ever. Well, besides the limited edition Pinata cookies from girl scouts. Those I could probably eat five boxes of, easy. I think a few months ago somebody mentioned to me the joy of adding mini candybars to their cookie dough. I’m sure somewhere along the road the idea of rolos was posed to me, but I had forgotten it until doing my search for mixer recipes. I found it again, alas, and gave it a whirl with my new KitchenAid.

Rolo Stuffed Snickerdoodles (via Cooking Classy)

Prep: 10 mins
Chill: 1 hour
Bake: 6-8 minutes @ 400 degrees

Ingredients:

  • 2 sticks butter, softened
  • 1 cup plus 3 tablespoons sugar,divided
  • 2 eggs
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 2 and 3/4 cups flour
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • 2 and 1/2 teaspoons ground cinnamon
  • 20 Rolos, cut in half

Process:

Combine butter and 1 cup of the sugar in mixing bowl. Using the wire whip, cream the mixture at a high speed (I used 6) for about a minute.

Once mixture is creamy, add eggs then vanilla and beat over a medium speed for a couple of minutes.

Change over to the dough hook. Add baking soda and flour until the dough is thoroughly mixed.

Cover dough and let it chill in the fridge for about an hour.

Preheat oven to 400 degrees F. Remove dough from fridge and unwrap rolos. Cut rolos in half on a cutting board and set aside. Prepare remaining sugar and cinnamon mixture on a plate for rolling the dough.

Wrap rolos within a small section of dough, rolling it into a ball between your hands.

Roll the dough in the sugar & cinnamon mixture until well coated.

Place dough balls on a greased cooking sheet and bake for 6-8 minutes. Remove promptly and cool for 5 minutes.

Enjoy, but beware of the oozing caramel!!

Also beware of how addicting these things are 🙂

5 thoughts on “Rolo Stuffed Snickerdoodles

  1. Look at how pretty your squares of dough are!!

    I have to make a huge batch of cookies for a fundraiser in a couple of weeks, and decided on pumpkin snickerdoodles — and thought of you and Josh!

Leave a Reply

