Chipotle Lime Salmon

I grew up hardly eating fish. Maybe the occasional fish stick or beer-battered cod, but never a fresh caught wood-planked salmon. And mind you, I was the kid that ate everything. Green things, leafy things, scary looking slimy things. I’d try it all.

That’s why when I was in college, I was surprised and a little dismayed to realize that I had never really tried fish. It was at a graduation dinner for my husband that I actually tried lobster. And salmon. And it wasn’t until a trip out to the in-laws (before wedded bliss) that Josh and I dominated an entire tray of shrimp cocktail (yep. that happened).

Now I may not be as bold as my husband, who recently dined on Mako shark, but I can safely say that I’ve conquered enough fish to know that I love it.

Enter: Salmon. My favorite fish of them all. Why salmon? It’s a meaty fish, and perhaps that’s what I need with my nubile fish frenzy. It’s also easy to prepare, and crazy healthy. There’s not much that even I can do to screw it up. Anyway, on with the recipe!

Chipotle Lime Salmon

Ingredients

  • 2 salmon filets
  • 5-10tbsp of chipotle rub/seasoning
  • 1 lime (sliced and halved)
  • 4 slices yellow bell pepper
  • 1/4 white onion, chopped into small pieces
  • garlic seasoning
  • lemon seasoning
  • parsley leaves (flaked)
  • pepper
  • 2tbsp butter (to coat bottom of dish)

Process

1. Preheat oven to 375 degrees F. Dice onions and slice yellow bell pepper and lime.

2. Squeeze one of the half limes over the salmon. Rub the lime juice in on all sides, ensuring an even coat.

3. Apply chipotle rub generously on all sides of the salmon. Lightly sprinkle the garlic powder, lemon seasoning and parsley flakes for garnish.

4. Coat baking dish with butter and add a layer of the yellow peppers, onions and a few of the limes. Sprinkle lemon and garlic seasonings over the top of the vegetables. Add salmon and place a few limes on the top of the filets. Place in the oven to bake for 20 minutes.

5. After 20 minutes of baking, remove dish from the oven. Serve immediately with your favorite sides!

Delicious, healthy and colorful! Perfect for a hot June night. Fish, where have you been all my life??

2 thoughts on “Chipotle Lime Salmon

  1. Yum! I’m not much of a fish person myself – I’ll eat it, but I never really cook it – but I’ll probably make this for Boyfriend the next time he’s home.

Leave a Reply

