Four-Way-ish Cincinnati Chili

When my husband and I first started dating, he once told me the ways of Cincinnati Skyline Chili. Being born in Ohio, it was basically a right of passage for Josh and his family to have eaten it on occasion. Cincinnati chili is basically a chili sauce that Ohioans eat in a variety of ways:

  • Bowl: chili in a bowl
  • Two-way: chili and spaghetti
  • Three-way: chili, spaghetti, and cheese
  • Four-way: chili, spaghetti, cheese, and onions
  • Five-way: chili, spaghetti, cheese, onions, and beans

I had never known of such a thing, but being a huge fan of chili cheese dogs made it easier for me to be cool with the idea. The thing about skyline chili though, is that it’s pretty soupy. I know, this might freak some people out. However, I do believe that layering fancy shredded cheese on a chili-topped pork product can hardly go wrong… but I’ll let you decide for yourselves. Visually, at least.

Don’t let the soupyness scare you. It’s soooooo good. Skyline chili has a distinct and surprising flavor. There are hints of clove, cinnamon, and even chocolate. It’s savory, but even spicy in some bites!

Now if I were a true Ohioan, the cheese I used would be even more finely shredded than this, and even more piled high. Also, I think there would be more chili on the dogs.

Also, Skyline doesn’t melt their dogs. But I do 🙂

Yes. I ate two of these. Good grief!

So the next time you’re in Ohio (are you ever, though??) stop by Skyline and get some chili dogs. They also do a mean spaghetti, too!

2 thoughts on “Four-Way-ish Cincinnati Chili

Leave a Reply

