Pretzel buns

It’s Pretzel Day… again!

I never thought I would ever be able to make bread. Let alone good bread…or buns….or anything like that. When I started this cooking blog, the riskiest thing I ever made from scratch were oatmeal raisin cookies that were consequently burnt. With that being said, making pretzel buns is pretty much the holy grail of my cooking adventures to this point.

The recipe started awry, as I misread the instructions and began my dough with WAY too little water. Instinctively, I added just enough to make the dough malleable. Whew! That was a close one.

I have also never googled as much as I did for this recipe. “Can aluminum foil be substituted for parchment paper?” “What is the difference between active dry yeast and instant yeast?” “How much is a package of yeast?” Needless to say, I’m learning things today.

The recipe I used can be found on Erin’s Food Files blog. As mentioned in the post these pretzels are sturdy, but moist. I too observed that these would be A LOT of bun for a burger, so I am considering cutting them in half and just using half of a bun at a time. These would be great for sandwiches throughout the week, if we can figure out how to store them.

Tomorrow’s post will showcase how I put these bad boys to use, with my original Pizza Burger recipe. Yum!

2 thoughts on “Pretzel buns

Leave a Reply

