Red Pepper Breakfast Cups

I don’t normally make breakfast. I mean, I like breakfast, but I like to go out for it. When I do make breakfast, it’s quick cereal or oatmeal, or maybe a microwegg. On Saturday I decided to try out the breakfast cups I had been seeing all over Pinterest. They were not as easy as I thought, but part of my flaw was cooking them at too low of a temperature, and not evening off my peppers on the bottom well enough.

Either way, the excess egg is easy enough to trim off, so not a big deal. I scrambled the eggs beforehand too, so that might have a hand in making them harder to work with. Admittedly, I didn’t even look up a recipe for this. It wasn’t until after the experiment that I found the recipe on SkinnyTaste. Sometimes my instincts are a little fonky!

Ingredients:

  • 4 eggs
  • 1 bell pepper cut into 4 1/2″ thick rings
  • Cooking spray (olive oil is best)
  • 1/4 cup shredded cheese
  • Allspice seasonings
  • Parsley for garnish

Process:  (Quoted from SkinnyTaste.com):

In a large nonstick skillet, heat on medium heat. When hot, spray olive oil spray, add pepper and let it cook a minute, then add egg into the center of the pepper. Season with salt and pepper and cook until the egg whites are mostly set but the yolks are still runny, 2-3 minutes. Gently flip and cook 1 more minute for over easy, longer if you like them over well.

I deviated from the original recipe by scrambling my eggs and adding a splash of orange juice. The OJ gives the eggs a thicker consistency and a tangy zest.

Scrambling the eggs. I have learned that the cups will look and hold up better if the eggs are simply dropped into the cups. Duh? 🙂

Pre-frying the peppers in butter. I did not use olive oil spray because I was in a Paula Deen mood. NEEDS MORE BUTTER!

Naturally, the egg went everywhere. Not a big deal considering I just trimmed the excess egg off once it was fully cooked. Still looks better when the egg is dropped into the cup, though.

And there you have it. Something that doesn’t quite look like it should, but was still pretty darn tasty!

PS…Josh made dinner last night, and it was pretty damn good. It’s a tomato-basil-rice-chicken-pepper-mushroom concoction, without a name. I’m currently eating some for my lunch leftovers and it has a bit of a bite to it, which I like. Well played hubs. Well played.

4 thoughts on “Red Pepper Breakfast Cups

  1. Your looks better than my attempt did! I dropped the egg right into the peppers, but then it did not cook through all the way to the top, so I had to flip it… not a good idea.

    I even saw a version of this on a cover of a magazine recently. How do they do it?! Oh well. Hope you had fun trying as I did.

    • I think that’s why I decided to scramble them before dropping. I did flip them about 3/4 of the way through cooking, and they seemed solid enough by that point to not run over when I flipped them. I have no idea how people get them looking so perfect! 🙂

Leave a Reply

