Veggie Week – Black Bean & Mushroom Burgers

On Monday, I had toast for dinner. You heard me. TOAST.

I had a bad case of the dizzies and all I could happen to muscle down were two dramamine pills and two slices of toast. I slept from 7:30pm until 6:30am. So naturally, on Tuesday, I was absolutely STARVING. But rather than reach for something easy, I decided I would maintain veggie week and at least make something hearty AND good for me.

Enter, the black bean burger.

I typically have black beans in the pantry, as they are one of my favorite staples. I scoped out the internets and found this lovely black bean recipe (which I actually changed up quite a bit). Now, I warn you… I don’t have a fancy food processor, so making this was kind of a trip. I have the food processor on my birthday wish list, so hopefully that becomes a reality. Oh the things I could make if I had the proper kitchen utensils/appliances. Anywho, I used a hand-mixer, which works just fine for now 🙂

Before I go any further I will say that these burgers are DELICIOUS. They’re crazy hearty, and I was full after half the burger. The black beans are high in protein and the addition of mushrooms and other veggies as toppings solidifies it as a compact little energy source. I felt a huge boost after eating these, and I’m pretty sure it lead me to clean part of my house. On a work night! I think next time I might modify it with some turkey bacon or grilled mushrooms on top of the burger. I couldn’t quite taste the mushrooms within the actual patty, and I sort of longed for that grilled onion/mushroom burger aesthetic. But never fear, there will be a next time for these bad boys!

Black Bean Burger:

  • 1 can black beans (seasoned for extra flavor)
  • 1/2 cup onions, chopped finely
  • 2 tbsp minced garlic
  • 1/2 cup mushrooms
  • 1/4 cup chopped parsley
  • 1/4 cup chopped cilantro
  • 1 egg
  • 1/2 cup plain breadcrumbs
  • 1 tbsp red pepper flakes
  • Salt & Pepper to Taste

Toppings:

  • 2 thin slices red/yellow pepper
  • 4 thin slices cucumber, halved
  • spinach
  • Ketchup/Mustard

Dressing:

  • 3 tbsp mayo
  • 1/4 avocado, diced
  • 1/4 cup shredded cheese (I used a Mexican blend)
  • 1-2 tbsp chipotle seasoning (Add to your liking)

Dice up ingredients. Note the scallions. I wound up deciding not to use them 🙂

Mix ingredients for black bean burgers. Start with black beans, garlic and onion. Blend or pulse until well mixed, but not quite pureed. Add remaining ingredients, except for breadcrumbs, slowly, and blend only for about 10 seconds each time. The goal here is just to mix everything up enough that the pieces become small enough for shaping.

Add bread crumbs and blend until mixture becomes thickened and is ready for shaping.

Shape patties and coat a grill pan (a griddle or actual grill would work well, too) with 1tbsp of butter. Grill for about 4 minutes on each side, or until outside of burgers are a crisp brown.

While the burgers are grilling, prepare your dressing (completely optional!) by mixing avocado, mayo and chipotle seasoning. I used a light mayo and Wildtree chipotle lime seasoning.

The dressing will appear creamy and smooth once fully mixed. I used a spoon to mix (old school!), but you could probably use a hand mixer.

Once the burgers are done grilling, toast a bun and top with dressing, red/yellow pepper slices, cucumber slices, spinach, ketchup, and mustard.

Yum!

One thought on “Veggie Week – Black Bean & Mushroom Burgers

Leave a Reply

