Fresh Strawberry Yogurt Cake

I made my FIRST EVER cake from scratch last night. You guys, seriously. I made a cake. WOAH.

Okay, enough of the obligatory celebrations. Seriously though, I’ve never made a cake that didn’t come in a box, so this is a big thing. I originally had this recipe on my March food list, but between the Chole Sabzi Pulao and BBQ pork chops, I kind of got distracted. So April is here, and I am feeling motivated by the unseasonably warm temperatures. And nothing says “hey it’s 90 degrees outside!” like turning on the oven and baking a cake. ha ha 😀

Since I am a bit pressed for time, you can find the original recipe here. I will disclaim that their cake turned out waaay lighter than mine, color-wise. I really have no clue how this happened, given that I had a pretty precise bake time. The taste was still all there, so I don’t think it’s a matter of “burning” or baking too long. If any of my baking veteran friends have any ideas how that happened, I’m all ears 😉

Let me also say, that the lemon in this recipe is an amazing touch. It’s fresh and springy, perfect for the current weather. The powdered sugar drizzle is mixed with straight up lemon juice, which has a bit of a tart flavor. I don’t mind it, but I could see it being a bit intense for some. Neverthelss, I will make this recipe again, and SOON. Good stuff!

Preparing the ingredients. I’ve been using frozen strawberries in recipes lately. It’s just a bit easier to work with.

Sifting the flour with the lemon peel and mixing in the eggs one at a time. I used larger sections of the peel, but that’s just a preference of mine. The peel can be grated for a finer hint of lemon.

Alternating the flour and greek yogurt keeps the batter from getting too dry all at once. The recipe requests that the strawberries and remaining 1/4th cup of flour be added in gently (spoon mixed vs blended).

Filling the bundt pan with the batter. Take time to make sure the batter is spread evenly. It will surely settle, but you can’t be too safe! 🙂

Complimentary “messy kitchen” photo.

After 60 minutes of baking at 325 degrees, you will have a delicious bundt cake! Be sure to allow at least 20 minutes of in-pan cool time, followed by about 15 additional minutes out of the pan before icing.

Good Sunday morning to you!

10 thoughts on “Fresh Strawberry Yogurt Cake

  1. Looks yummy either way! I’m more of curious baker not an expert. I love baking and I’m guess difference is your pan. Darker pans equal darker color to foods. At least that what I learned. Darker pans absorb and retain heat and at times the cooking temperature should be reduce slightly.

  2. Very interesting! I know there are a ton of different kinds of bundt pans with different shapes and depths. Maybe I will experiment with a new kind of pan soon! 🙂 Thanks Melissa!

  3. This sounds delicious, and I think I have everything but the lemon in my kitchen… (I have lemon juice, might just mix a few drops of that in and see how it turns out!)

    The darker color is because your pan is so dark, I think. Don’t quote me on that tho. I’m dying to get one of those fancy bundt pans from Williams Sonoma, and they’re all very light silver colored.

    As for the lemon/powdered sugar drizzle, that is one of my FAVORITE toppings ever. It’s fabulous on top of blueberry bread/muffins as well, if you want to try it on something else. I use a store-bought blueberry muffin mix that comes with a crumble for the top and back it in a bread pan instead with the drizzle on top. (Can’t remember the brand, but it’s not Pillsbury or Betty Crocker.)

    • Although I think the lemon peel adds a wonderful texture and taste to the cake, using store-bought lemon juice would save some time, and probably still taste good. Might be worth a try, at least!

      I am really going to have to try a lighter pan next time. It doesn’t bother me so much that the batter turned dark, but it sort of irks me that the strawberries are dark too. The sample recipe had pictures of white fluffy cake with bright strawberries, and I sort of long for that visual!

      And yes! The drizzle is amazing. I wouldn’t have guessed that it’s just lemon juice and powdered sugar.

  4. Girl, I have a bundt pan that I never use, and I haven’t baked anything in ages! I’m going to have to give this one a try.

    Also — YAY, BAKING! So dang proud of you!

Leave a Reply

