BBQ Apple Pork Chops

Last night, I whipped up some of the most delicious pork chops I’ve ever made. Pork chops have always been a challenge for me, in the way that I either burn them or dry them out completely. I’ve never been able to mimic the ones mom made us kids growing up, so I almost altogether gave up on creating the perfect chop. Until now! By George, I think I’ve got it.

Ingredients:

  • 2 granny smith apples
  • 3 thick cut boneless pork chops
  • 3/4 packet of Pot roast seasoning  (McCormick)
  • 2/4 packet of Ranch seasoning (McCormick)
  • 1/4 cup pineapple (I used tidbits, but the rings would work better!)
  • 1 cup BBQ sauce (Jack Daniels, Hickory Brown Sugar)
  • 2tbps Fruit Sauce (This is not 100% necessary. I had it laying around so I threw some in)
  • 1/3 cup Sweet & Spicy mustard  (Woeber’s)
  • 1/4 cup yellow mustard
  • Garlic & Pepper Blend (Wildtree’s Adobo Seasoning Blend)
  • 2 cups plain breadcrumbs
  • 1/4 cup melted butter

Process:

Oven temperature: 375 degrees

Prep time: 10 minutes

Bake time: 45 minutes

  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Fill the bottom of a glass baking dish with enough water to coat the bottom of the dish. Slice one of the apples and completely cover the bottom of the dish with 1/4 inch sliced apple wedges. Layer pork chops on top of apple wedges in dish.
  2. Spread and layer the remaining ingredients on top of pork chops in the following order: pot roast seasoning, ranch seasoning, pineapple, BBQ sauce, fruit sauce, sweet & spicy mustard, yellow mustard, and garlic & pepper blend.
  3. Cover layers with sliced wedges of the remaining apple and bake for 25 minutes.
  4. Remove dish from the oven and top with breadcrumbs and drizzle with melted butter. Bake for another 20 minutes.
  5. Once chops are fully cooked, remove from oven and let stand for 5 minutes.
  6. Serve with vegetables or potatoes. We used fresh cooked broccoli with lemon & herb seasoning.
  7. Enjoy!

Going…Going…Gone!

It even packaged well for hubby’s leftovers!

When Josh and I finished eating, I asked him how this ranked on the “make this again” scale. It was warmly received, and I can cross this off my bucket list of foods to conquer! Woohoo!

2 thoughts on “BBQ Apple Pork Chops

  1. Would you believe that the pork chops I made last week are the first ones I’ve ever cooked by myself? I’m so behind the times! These look soooo good, though, and now I’m really glad that I have exactly three thick cut boneless chops living in my freezer. 🙂

    What size dish did you use? 8x8ish?

    • The first ones ever?? I would have thought you would have made them by now, with your excellent kitchen adventures and all! I used 9×9, but an 8×8 should be a good fit too! I hope you do try them. A few of the ingredients are interchangeable (spices and sauces), so it should be pretty flexible for you to adapt as well. Yay!

Leave a Reply

