Meatball Slider Bar

The other day I was craving bar food. I wanted something comforting and indulgent, yet super easy. I bought a huge bag of meatballs at Sam’s with the intention of preparing spaghetti and meatballs one night, but sort of forgot they were even there. Let me preface this post by saying that I am insanely bad at making my own meatballs. I don’t know what it is. There’s some sort of art involved. Someday I’ll get super ambitious and spend a day in the kitchen perfecting the art, but for now, I’ll take the easy way out.

I wanted to make meatball sliders, but thought hey… that’s not  “fun” enough. So I decided to make a little meatball slider bar. It’s kind of cheesy, but I will admit I love the idea of having a splay of toppings to choose from. I used simple ingredients  (sautéed mushrooms & green peppers, spinach, banana peppers and mozzarella cheese), so the prep time was pretty quick. Within a half hour, dinner was on the table (er, counter) and ready to go. Josh spent the afternoon working in the garden, so he was pretty hungry and ready for an easy meal. Someday when we have little Poppy’s running around, I’d like to think this would be a great meal to introduce to them. I mean, who doesn’t love being able to choose their own toppings?

Tater Tots?? Fancy!

Bar food not complete without an ice cold Valencia Amber. Yum!

I didn’t get around to making the pierogies this weekend, since we were working on the garden. It seems as though my March wish list is falling by the wayside. But hey! There’s still 11 days left! 😉

Leave a Reply

