Pinteresting: No-Bake Energy Bites

If you’re on Pinterest, then you’ve definitely seen the “No-Bake Energy Bites” floating around your feed. I’m not generally a huge fan of breakfast, so when I do eat in the morning it’s toast or a smoothie or something. I mean, I’ll throw down some hashbrowns or biscuits and gravy, don’t get me wrong. I just don’t have a lot of time (or energy) in the morning.

That’s why it was totally weird when I woke up at 5:30am one morning last week, ready to grab the day by the you know what. I was feeling jived, and decided to see if there was anything in our dwindling supply of food (see: Mexico) to make for breakfast.

I had recalled seeing the energy bites on Pinterest, and it struck me when I realized I had oats and peanut butter, that I could probably make the recipe. It’s pretty simple, but requires a few specific ingredients. Without further ado, my early morning attempt at the energy bites.

Ingredients:

  • 1 tbsp vanilla extract
  • 2 cups peanut butter (creamy or chunky)
  • 2 cups of oats
  • 1/4 cup of honey
  • 2 oz or 1/4 cup of chocolate chips (depends on how “chippy” you want it!)
  • 1 tsp cinnamon
  • 2 oz or 1/4 cup of crushed pecans (custom ingredient)
  • 2 oz 0r 1/4 cup of blueberries (custom ingredient)
  • 2 oz or 1/4 cup of sunflower seeds (custom ingredient, not pictured above)

Step One: Mix it all together.

Step Two: Tease dog with peanut butter (his favorite snack!).

Step Three: Refrigerate for at least an hour, form mixture into small bite-sized servings and enjoy!

The recipe I used yields about 16-20 bites, depending on size. I took them with me to work for three days last week, and they were an absolute boost. It’s very true that they are rich in energy, and that they can really contain any kind of energy you want to include in the recipe. I’d recommend experimenting with different kinds of nuts and fruits. Maybe even adding spinach in them for a little green boost. Keep in mind that these little guys need at least an hour in the fridge before shaping, and that they’d be better off as a make-ahead kind of snack, rather than a morning-of deal.

Well done Pinterest! As usual 🙂

3 thoughts on “Pinteresting: No-Bake Energy Bites

Leave a Reply

