Early Morning Smoothie

Sometimes I get motivated super early in the morning. When this happens, I usually start my day by making something. The other day, my motivation had me making lunch for Josh, but also making a pretty elaborate smoothie.

A Backstory

See, I never grew up drinking smoothies. The first time I heard of one, I was a bit grossed out. “You’re going to chop up fruit into a puree and then drink it?? Weird“. But and then again, most of my youth was spent drowning in bags of cheetos and 20 ounce bottles of coke.

This was until I started working at Orange Julius when I was 17. It was in the food court of the mall, and was combined with a Dairy Queen. There were all sorts of sweet delights, which is funny because I often have anything *but* a sweet tooth. I’d be the one mackin’ on some nachos or a chili cheese dog before I rushed to get something covered in chocolate. Chocolate and I are cool now, but you get the point.

So here I am, 17, making my way into the smoothie world. The first smoothie I ever tried had me hooked. It was so tropical and delicious, but at almost $5 a pop, I couldn’t bring myself to getting one every day. Orange Julius puts this powdery crack type stuff in their smoothies, and I’ve never been able to recreate the flavor. I wondered if they had tainted my homemade smoothie experience.

Not quite. I’ve been able to perfect my smoothies, adding ingredients that compliment taste, but also consistency. I once made a lumpy, disgusting smoothie, and my lesson has since been learned. So anyway, enough rambling. Here’s the smoothie I made the other day:

Ingredients

  • 1/4 cup frozen strawberries
  • 1/4 cup frozen mango
  • 1/4 cup blueberries
  • 1 banana
  • 3 cups of ice (depends on how much ice you like)
  • 1 1/2 cups of orange juice
  • 2 generous scoops of low fat frozen yogurt – vanilla
  • 2 scoops of rainbow sherbet
  • 1 ripe avocado (special boost, good for cholesterol!)

And well, I’d detail the process of blending something, but I think you already get that. I blend until the mixture is very smooth. Some people like a thicker smoothie, in which case I would add more frozen yogurt, or even 1% milk.

Some smoothie glamour shots:

What do you like in your smoothies?

One thought on “Early Morning Smoothie

  1. I’d have never thought to put avocado in a smoothie. Did you taste it in there? I am a firm believer that a smoothie isn’t the best it can be unless a banana is involved, so I was glad to see you threw that in there. By the way, I am NEVER motivated in the morning. I don’t know how you people do it. I need 4 cups of coffee before I want to do anything!

Leave a Reply

