Greek Pita with Fat Free Feta!

I’m usually skeptical about things that say “Fat Free”. Why? Because I know how good the fattened version is, but also because I become extremely curious about what needs to be done to make something inherently fatty into something non fatty. Cheese is one of the prime examples of this. I once tried a vegetarian non-cheese type of sliced cheese that was basically the equivalent of a thin sheet of plastic. It was gross.

So here I am, standing in the deli, staring at this container of Kryssos Co.  “fat free” feta cheese. In light of my recent diagnosis, I decided to bite the bullet and give the FF feta a try. My experiment was with a basic greek style pita, which I’ve created before with regular feta. It’s an all-time favorite of mine, in that it’s light, easy to prepare, and fairly guilt free (if you ignore the bread).

After sauteing the veggies, I decided to take a little nibble of the feta to give it a preliminary taste test. The consistency was dry and crumbly. not unlike regular feta. The taste was familiar, but not quite as creamy. I was pleasantly surprised, however, once I topped the pita with the cheese. The combination was pretty sensational, and not a far cry from the real thing. It was pretty tasty, and even husband approved.

Feast your eyes on the end result…

Yum!

Leave a Reply

